SPIRE Steering Group

The SPIRE Steering Group (SSG) is an independent body that will scrutinise all requests for new data extractions, ensuring that they adhere to all agreed Information Governance principles and arrangements.

The SSG includes representatives from patients, GPs, the Scottish Government, relevant professional bodies as well as NHS Caldicott Guardians.

SPIRE Steering Group membership
Name Position
Prof John Gillies Deputy Director, Scottish School of Primary Care (SSPC; Chair)
Dr Colin Brown GP/Scottish Clinical Information Management in Practice (SCIMP)
Tina Chapman Patient Representative
Dr Andrew Cowie British Medical Association (BMA; Scottish General Practitioners Committee / SGPC Representative)
Dr Frances Elliot Medical Director, NHS Fife
Dr Neil Kelly GP, NHS Dumfries & Galloway
Dr Miles Mack Chair Royal College of General Practitioners (RCGP) Scotland
Dr Alan McDevitt BMA (SGPC Chair)
Dr Gordon McLaren Deputy Caldicott Guardian, NHS Fife
Dr Libby Morris SPIRE Project Board Member and GP
Dr Janet Murray Caldicott Guardian, NHS National Services Scotland
Jill Thomas SPIRE Project Lead
Eric Wilson Patient Representative